top of page

Teign Corinthian Open 22nd August

Report by Mike Commander & Peter Hearne

Photos Heather Davies

Teign Corinthian Yacht Club were delighted to host the latest round of the Solo Western Series at Coombe Cellars on the river Teign on Saturday 20th August. Despite clashing with other local sailing events four visitors joined the home solo sailors to make a sizeable fleet of 21 boats with one young lady, Maddie Farmer, joining the fray.

Three races back to back around a classic triangular/sausage course ensued. With the breeze coming from the south west and generally swinging through 20 to 30 degrees it was challenging sailing for both the sailors and the Race officer on the committee boat.

Apart from the first race everyone was well behaved on the start line. After one general recall the helms got the message and all other starts got away cleanly, although one helm was caught over the line. It was particularly important to stay clean on the starts as all race results were to count.

The first race was dominated by Paul Bartlett (TCYC) as he established a commanding lead during the first lap and never looked like getting caught by the chasing pack. After some very close racing and a number of place changes as the fleet negotiated the difficult conditions, Mark Philips (TCYC), managed to hold on for second place with John Steels (Starcross YC) third.

Race two was very much a repeat of race one with Paul smartly off the line and managing the shifty conditions better than all the others to round the windward mark with a comfortable lead. There is a saying in sailing that the rich get richer and this was certainly true as Paul rounded the leeward mark, immediately hardened up on port and sailed clean through the middle of the gated start / finish line. Those following were not so fortunate as the wind swung right by some 20 degrees and had to tack a couple of times before they went through the line. With the wind strength increasing the gusts and shifts were taking their toll further down the fleet with boats capsizing at the gybe mark and up the beat. Paul again took a comfortable win with Simon Jones (TCYC) second over the line and Ian Bartlett (South Cerney SC) third.

With the wind swinging back and forth often through 40 degrees the race committee were tempted to move the course for the third race but simply moving the windward and leeward marks by about 50 metres sufficed as the wind steadied throughout the start sequence. However, a big shift left just after the gun dunked a number of sailors into windward with Dave Northcott (TCYC) falling out of his boat completely! This time though it was Simon Greenslade (Starcross YC) that dominated and led from start to finish with Paul Bartlett second and Chris Meredith (Chew Valley SC) third.

So, with two wins and a second place, Paul Bartlett was the overall event winner, some 9 points ahead of Simon Jones and John Steels who were both tied on 13 points. Simon taking the runner up spot on count back. First lady, Maddie Farmer (TCYC)

Back on shore the pasties, cake and the optional beer were well received by all after a great day's racing with some really slick work on the Committee boat from our Race Officer Sasha Karakusevic and Asst. Race Officer Mike Commander.

Finally, a huge thank you to all those who helped out on the day, both, on and off, the water.

Overall Results (Note Western Series Overall results now published in Results section)

Sailed: 3, Discards: 0, To count: 3, Entries: 21, Scoring system: Appendix A

Rank SailNo HelmName Club Race 1 Race 2 Race 3 Total

1st 5964 Paul Bartlett TCYC 1.0 1.0 2.0 4.0

2nd 5462 Simon Jones TCYC 5.0 2.0 6.0 13.0

3rd 5926 John Steels Starcross YC 3.0 5.0 5.0 13.0

4th 5786 Simon Greenslade Starcross YC 6.0 7.0 1.0 14.0

5th 5902 Ian Bartlett South Cerney SC 8.0 3.0 4.0 15.0

6th 5893 Gary Molton TCYC 4.0 6.0 7.0 17.0

7th 4654 Malcolm Davies TCYC 7.0 8.0 8.0 23.0

8th 5323 Mark Philips TCYC 2.0 13.0 10.0 25.0

9th 5549 Peter Hearne TCYC 9.0 10.0 9.0 28.0

10th 5353 Chris Meredith Chew Valley SC 22.0 OCS 4.0 3.0 29.0

11th 6035 John Ewbank TCYC 12.0 11.0 13.0 36.0

12th 3915 Liam McGrath TCYC 16.0 9.0 12.0 37.0

13th 4800 James Main TCYC 14.0 12.0 11.0 37.0

14th 4922 Ben Miles TCYC 13.0 15.0 14.0 42.0

15th 5422 Dave Northcott TCYC 10.0 16.0 18.0 44.0

16th 4964 Paul Farmer TCYC 11.0 14.0 20.0 45.0

17th 4350 Charlie Tolcher TCYC 15.0 17.0 16.0 48.0

18th 4402 Richard Bryant TCYC 18.0 18.0 15.0 51.0

19th 3389 Matt Damerell TCYC 17.0 21.0 DNF 17.0 55.0

20th 3286 Maddie Farmer TCYC 19.0 19.0 19.0 57.0

21st 3965 James Stevenson TCYC 22.0 DNF 22.0 DNC 22.0 DNC 66.0

123 views0 comments


bottom of page